Common pitfall of a classical home education.

Yesterday during lunch, we finished reading Black Ships Before Troy, a children’s version of the Iliad written by Rosemary Sutcliff. (I highly recommend this book, by the way, but if you can afford it, get the hardcover copy with the illustrations. I bought the cheaper paperbacks to save some cash, and was disappointed to discover that in the paperback version, they leave out all the illustrations.)

Anyway. Not long after we finished reading it, the girls went outside to play a while. And not five minutes later, my 4-year-old came in to tell me that her sister was hurt. I went out to check, and (of course) it was her heel. My 4-year-old had been pretending to be Paris, and threw a stick at her sister, who was pretending to be Achilles, and amazingly enough, it struck her on the heel.

I got out the Bactine and a bandaid and doctored her up and then brought them inside for a history lesson.

Later on, after dinner, they went outside for a while before bedtime, and not five minutes after they’d gone out, I heard my 4-year-old crying. I went out to check on them, and she was holding her eye and her sister was apologizing profusely for hitting her with a stick.

I was being Hector! And she was being Patroclus, and…and…and– she yelled. It was an accident! HONEST!

At which point, I brought them both inside and told them they weren’t allowed to play the Trojan War for the rest of the week.

We’ll be moving on to Sutcliff’s version of the Odyssey next. I can’t wait till the girls start pretending to be the Sirens.

There goes the neighborhood.

9 Responses to “Common pitfall of a classical home education.”


  1. 1 Ami April 16, 2008 at 11:05 am

    ::snort::

    Yes, you should definitely put them in school. They won’t study things like that and therefore, will be very, very safe.

    When are you going to introduce them to the knights of the round table?
    I have a great sword idea.

  2. 2 karisma April 16, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Haha! And I thought only boys played like that! I really don’t like the kids playing with sticks for obvious reasons. We did go through numerous types of swords though until we finally found some foam ones, that while still caused a bit of pain, did not leave any real damage! They of course moved on to other things by then, as they do! DB went through a stage of being hercules for a while but just lately he is more happy being himself! (This is a good thing as you see lately he has been reading the Captain underpants series which is a little uncouth to say the least)

  3. 3 SabrinaT April 17, 2008 at 7:56 am

    HA HA! Thanks for the great idea for the boys. We have been looking for a good book!

  4. 4 Summer April 17, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    OK, so no classical literature for mine until they are past the age of poking each other with sticks. That will be, what, 30?

  5. 5 Chrissy April 18, 2008 at 9:47 am

    I am glad to hear that it isn’t only my kids that like to act out stories and then come in crying.

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I am going to look for it.

  6. 6 Robinella April 18, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    hahaham not many parents can say they’ve said this to their children…
    “told them they weren’t allowed to play the Trojan War for the rest of the week.”

  7. 7 kitten (Katie) April 20, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Well, Atleast you know they are listening!

  8. 8 RegularMom April 20, 2008 at 10:33 pm

    Thanks for laughing with me. 🙂

    We’ve moved on from being Greek warriors to being Ninjas somehow over the weekend. Damned Magic Tree House books! (sigh)

  9. 9 yestheyareallmine May 1, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    LOL- That is too funny (though I do hope all are okay and surviving the Trojan War). Oooh, there are so many war ruled societies to read about. Please keep us updated during these lessons. 🙂


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


