Two words: “sun” and “burn”, and then I veer WAY off into strange philosophical musings.

Ouch.

Today we went to an “Old Fashioned Field Day” hosted by one of our homeschool clubs. The girls ran foot races, sack races, sponge races, egg tosses, not to mention the infamous water balloon toss which turned into a gigantic water balloon fight and fiasco. But in a nice way, ya know?

It was HOT, of course. We’re in the throes of our first heat wave of the season here, and it’s Barely Tolerable. The girls opted out of the final Tug of War match just because they were Too. Damn. Hot. Luckily, there was a reasonably priced community pool right across the street from the park where we had our Field Day. So, after lunch, a bunch of us went over there and spent a nice afternoon swimming together. The girls all picked mermaid names from various Barbie movies and spent a good hour playing a very elaborate game based somehow on at least two different Barbie movies. It was cute. Then we just sort of swam around. For a long time.

And even in spite of the sunscreen, we’re all a little lobster-colored now. But it was still a great day.

And I’m sitting here now thinking about how “mainstream” homeschooling is becoming. All those arguments about socialization are rapidly becoming meaningless as hundreds of thousands of people opt to homeschool and then go online and find other people who have opted for the same, and then (GASP!!!) actually form groups so that they can all be… like… social… together. Nicely.

There’s even a homeschool prom in these here parts, believe it or not.

Yep. It’s true. A bunch of homeschoolers a little north of here got together and decided to do a smallish prom this year. And, so they did. And the unsocialized homeschooled teenagers that attended this prom were so nice to each other, and so well-behaved, and so SOCIALIZED TO BEHAVE LIKE GOOD, DECENT, UP AND COMING CITIZENS OF THEIR COMMUNITIES, that the hotel staff working that night were FLOORED. They couldn’t stop gushing about how wonderful those children were. And then the local paper got wind of this, and they sent over a reporter, and now the Homeschool Prom is receiving accolades from the local journalists.

No one, from the wait-staff at the hotel to the reporters, had ever seen anything like it. Or so they said.

And why am I the only one around here that thinks that’s sad? I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m cheering like mad for those homeschoolin’ teens who know how to behave at a prom, and yes it makes us LOOK FABULOUS, and I can’t even BEGIN to tell you how thrilled I am that I now have this little hidden gem of a bullet stored away in my arsenal for when my mother-in-law asks: BUT WHAT ABOUT THE PRRRROMMMMMM?????

But I’m also a little sad for all those other kids who went to their proms with agendas nonspecific to dancing and enjoying themselves. Because, so often, there is a completely different agenda on prom night, isn’t there?

Oh, well. No sense losing sleep over it, I guess. The world will be what the world will be.

But at least homeschooling is grabbing on a little more. And a little more. And each day, just a little more. Because if enough people start homeschooling, then eventually, things could start to self-correct, a little more here and there, slowly over time. We’d begin to see a bit of shift away from the endless crops of unhealthy, unhappy, unprepared young adults, to generations of people who were actually ready to take on this world and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. And eventually, maybe, that could make a difference globally.

I know, I know… it’s a stretch. But how else do we grow stronger without stretching a little first?

Think about it.

5 Responses to “Two words: “sun” and “burn”, and then I veer WAY off into strange philosophical musings.”


  1. 1 RegularSis June 10, 2008 at 9:30 am

    I love this blog entry – I feel that people all over America are “waking up” to homeschooling and making that choice and that feeling I have gives me hope. Hope that my kids will be part of the solution that saves this planet and the people who live all over it and hope that my children avoid some of the unnecessary (and regretted)other agendas that swam through my prom nights.

    I just got my haircut and was speaking to my stylist, who’s very young and married but has no children, and I asked her if she and her husband were thinking about it. And she confessed that while she’d like to be a mom, she doesn’t like the world or the schools in our area. (And we live out in the country.) She said a student brought a gun to the local highschool (which really surprised me given the bucolic area we reside in). I said, “Well, why don’t you homeschool your children?” And a little smile dawned on the landscape of her face as she realiAzed this was the solution. Another seed planted. And, boy am I looking forward to the harvest – because I think homeschooling could change our country, if enough people choose to do it.

    -RegSis

  2. 2 Maria June 10, 2008 at 10:27 am

    Great post. I was thinking about prom and how it’s usually about, well, YOU KNOW, sex and drinking….okay and some dancing and that great big fancy dress and making sure you have the right corsage and pedicure…but its so SHOWY and artificial..and kids get so mean…and destructive…and it’s nice to hear about a prom that is about just having fun…and being nice…so it says something about how those kids were raised.

    Yes, well, let the nay sayers weep for our poor children who don’t get out much….because it IS sad that the wait staff etc were so completely floored by decent behavior. Very sad.

  3. 3 Mommylion June 10, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Wow. The prom question is my least favorite one. My husband always answers, “You think it is a BAD thing to miss prom? Did you even like your prom?” Because honestly, most people did not. I loved highschool. HATED prom.

    But I did like dancing and going out dancing when young, and want my kids to experience that kind of fun if they wish. More like what you get to experience in college when you go out on your own terms without all the hype of the whole practice wedding scenario that prom is.

    I think you are right about homeschooling becoming more mainstream. I get less shocked and/or negative reactions lately and more interest from people.

  4. 4 RegularMom June 10, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Gee, thanks guys. I should veer off into strange philosophical musings more often.

    I also have always hated the infamous PROM QUESTION. I hate the fact that I actually worried about it myself when I was first thinking about homeschooling. I admit it. I was all “There’s no way I can homeschool. My girls would miss their proms.” And then someone on some message board actually asked me: “So, did you like your proms?” And I realized that I just hated the prom. Both times I went. It was awful.

    And now that I’m into this homeschooling gig, I’m sort of hoping that the girls never go to a prom. But it’s also nice to know that if they do want a prom, there will be one. And it also truly is nice to know that I can beat my in-laws over the heads with this Prom Possibility. hee hee hee.

    And RegularSis, your hairdresser sounds awesome. Now I want a haircut too. 🙂

  5. 5 Urban Mom June 11, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Urban Dad and I discuss this often with people who ask us about our decision to homeschool — that it’s seems to be achieving a “critical mass” of sorts. It’s rare to have someone think we’re all that wierd, anymore. Everyone seems to be aware of someone who’s homeschooling — they either know someone who’s doing it or know someone who’s brother/sister/whoever is doing it. But it seems that the word is speading, and perhaps the internet has had a lot to do with it?? But the prom — ugh — don’t get me started on the “socialization” part of that conversation. Anyone worried about that should actually go chaperone one today. I guarantee that even the most open of minds will slam shut instantly!!!


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


