50 extra days.

Two years ago today, I quit smoking.

Had I known two years ago that within months of giving up the smokes, I’d be uprooting the kids and moving all the way back East, I probably would not have quit. Had I known what the ensuing year was going to be like: moving with a toddler, living in a tiny little farmhouse with water that stank and no dishwasher, I probably would have upped my daily intake to at least two packs a day. Had I known that that whole year would be filled with massive amounts of uncertainty and stress as we struggled to sell our house in a dying market, and as RegularDad heard rumor after rumor of layoffs and relocations back to Colorado or to California or even to Vietnam, I’d have switched to something unfiltered.

This is why it’s good that we can’t see the future.

Because it’s really only been in the past two months or so that I’ve finally reached that point where I’m really glad that I quit, and that I didn’t start up again.

Things are settling down for us. Finally. The kids have made great friends, we’ve gotten into a new house, and although this house needs quite a bit of work, it really has become my very favorite of all the houses we’ve ever lived in.

I guess I’m just glad we got through this move without picking up the nicotine again. (RegularDad celebrated his two year milestone of being nicotine-free on June 11. Everyone tell him how cool he is!) I owe a lot of thanks to RegularDad and the RegularKids for putting up with my crazy mood swings over the course of this move.

And I think I owe all of you a big giant THANK YOU as well. Because for the past two years, more often than not, I’ve blogged instead of smoked. Many, many thanks to all of you. For listening to my bullshit, and keeping me going.

For the record, here are my stats:

As of this writing I haven’t smoked for 2 years, 9 hours, and 32 minutes.
I’ve not smoked 14,628 cigarettes.
I’ve saved $3, 015.32.
And I’ve added 50 days and 19 hours to my life.

I’m thinking I might have to spend 50 days in Europe at some point. And at least on of those days I’ll have to go to Naples and have some pizza.

If you want to quit smoking, but you can’t, go here and do EXACTLY what they say. It really, really works.

 

11 Responses to “50 extra days.”


  1. 1 Karisma June 26, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Congratulations to you! I Know how hard it is for me its been 15 years now.

    And now you are no longer just in a house, you have found a home! Wonderful!

  2. 2 Ami June 26, 2008 at 11:33 am

    I gave up smoking for the second time when I found out I was pg with baby #2. (Quit just before I found out with #1, started up again when he was 2.. I was an idiot)

    Congratulations!!

    Did you ever wonder about that whole lose 10 minutes of your life for every cigarette you smoke thing? I mean, how do they know when you’re scheduled to die, really?

  3. 3 Mom #1 June 26, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Hurray! That’s awesome. I’ve never smoked, because my parents smoke enough for themselves and two or three other people. I think I’ll subtlety send them that link and see if they can pick up on the hint.

    If you’re going to get some of that Naples pizza, count me in. Yummy!

    Congratulations on all of your bi-annual accomplishments! Making a home out of absolutely nothing is so tough.

  4. 4 Mom #1 June 26, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Oh, I also wanted to say congratulations to RegularDad too. Over the past year or so reading your blog, I’ve learned one thing for sure about him – – He Rocks!

  5. 5 RegularMom June 26, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Thanks everyone. 🙂

  6. 6 Heather June 26, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Congratulations!!

    I’m quitting for the somethingth (last, THE last) time TOMORROW. I’m excited. And anxious and depressed and all that. But excited – I keep telling myself that, “You’re excited, this is exciting.. right?”

    It’s good to know others (real, actual people) have done it successfully. And that link is the best I’ve seen so far. Off to read my butt off.

  7. 7 RegularMom June 26, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Heather, that is so EXCELLENT!!! I’m rooting for ya. Just keep reading. You can do it!

  8. 9 SabrinaT June 27, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    I put down the cigs and picked up the patch! Now, I can’t get off the patch… HA HA HA!

  9. 10 Urban Mom June 27, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Fantastic work! Especially with all of the craziness of life that came along. Remember that guy in the movie Airplane — I picked the wrong week to quit smoking, I quit the wrong week to quit drinking, I picked the wrong week to quit sniffing glue…” Way to go for hanging in there and staying strong!!!!

  10. 11 sauer kraut June 29, 2008 at 10:02 pm

    Just think… by not buying all those smokes, you’ve denied ed rendell the ability to collect more taxes from you!! Keep up the good work.


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


