Whatever you do…don’t step on the bunny.

Drawing chalk bunnies may not seem all that interesting. But it does add a whole new dimension to jumping rope on the back porch.

But that’s not what I wanted to tell you about, really.

What I wanted to tell you about, really, is these dresses. Don’t you love them? Aren’t they just gorgeous? Isn’t the fact that my 7-year-old actually put one on amazing?

These dresses come from a thrift shop close to home. A kind of thrift shop that gives all its proceeds to a battered women’s shelter. So, if you shop there, not only are you Not Buying Some Unnecessary New Clothing Item that only adds to the depletion of more resources and exploits a third-world worker, but you’re also helping women in the area who really need some help.

Did I mention to you that it’s my favorite clothing store?

These dresses cost $3.00 each. The hat was $1.00. The green top was $2.00. But so what? The best part of buying them was just going into the store with my daughters and browsing around for a good hour, trying on all the funny “old lady hats” and squealing over fabulous finds. That red dress is my 5-year-old’s favorite item of clothing. (My 7-year-old hasn’t worn her dress since this day, but that’s okay. If she needs a dress, at least she’s got one.)

Look how beautiful these dresses are. Look at my beautiful children. Look how easy it is to shop without hurting anyone. Look how political this post became.

We’re way far off from jumping over chalk bunnies, now. But chalk bunnies are still a great summer diversion. Go on out and draw one yourself. You’ll see what I’m talking about.

9 Responses to “Whatever you do…don’t step on the bunny.”


  1. 1 Mom #1 July 11, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    The dresses, the bunnies, the children . . . they are ALL beautiful.

    We don’t draw many chalk bunnies these days, but chalk MONSTERS are a real hit around here, LOL.

  2. 2 robinellablog July 11, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Yes, anything that growls or fights is on our driveway.

    I really want to be a thrift shopper and for all the reasons you stated. I just don’t have the patience to dig through all those clothes. Maybe if I leave the boys at home, it’ll be more enjoyable. 🙂

  3. 3 RegularMom July 11, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Ah yes, I can see how boys may not enjoy an afternoon sifing through clothes.

    Chalk monsters, huh? It’s got possibilities. 🙂

  4. 4 Karisma July 12, 2008 at 9:21 am

    ALL Lovely! Its great to see someone who is so caring for the environment! Our kids do not need brand names, just clothes that they like and are comfortable in! I love OP shops too!

  5. 5 Summer July 12, 2008 at 10:26 am

    What a great store. 🙂 I’d be in trouble with a thrift store like that near me, I’d have a built in excuse to buy more stuff.

  6. 6 Katherine July 12, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    I love this first picture so much. Just So Much. I can’t even say exactly why it pleases me. I think maybe you can almost feel the energy in those little pink shoes, so carefully getting as close to without stepping on the bunny as possible.

    Thrift shopping is one of our favorite activities. Its like a treasure hunt. And I never have to worry the kids are going to get anything dirty while they climb through the racks. And I can buy for them like a generous queen. “You want that owl covered in hot glue and seashells? Its yours! Put in the cart, darling.”

  7. 7 RegularMom July 12, 2008 at 8:40 pm

    Karisma, yes…comfort is key here. Especially for my 7-year-old. And Summer, you’d love this place — every day of the week, they pick one section of the store and make everything half off the already super low prices. Monday is half off the kids clothing.

    And Katherine, so glad you said that about that first picture. I feel the same way about it. And we, too, purchase seriously frivolous items when at the thrift store. In addition to these dresses, we also bought tons of other summer things, including a silver hard plastic “formal purse” for my 5-year-old. She LOVES that thing. 🙂

  8. 8 RegularSis July 13, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Great dresses and that last picture is why people use the phrase picture perfect!

    xo
    -RegSis

  9. 9 SabrinaT July 15, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    What a great day! I love the picture of your 5 year old jumping. To be a kid and just jump again…
    I can’t wait to get back home and thrift store shop again. They have something like it here but the Japanese keep things forever, and pass the clothes to orphanages. So for now we shall internet shop.


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


