From white to yellow in 37 days.

About a month ago we signed the girls up for some karate lessons. RegularDad took karate for a while as a kid and its something he always wanted for our girls. We managed to find a very affordable summer program for them. And not only is the program affordable, but the teachers are quite excellent. They love the kids, and they know how to work with the kids. It’s become something the girls simply cannot live without.

Last night, they took their first tests and, of course, passed from white belt to yellow belt with ease. Here are a few shots of them after their tests.

We’re not allowed to photograph the actual tests because it’s too distracting. It’s a standard policy at this place. I like how they take it so seriously. Because, let’s face it, it takes a lot less to distract my 5-year-old from a karate test. Or from anything, really.

But that’s not my favorite thing about this karate school. My actual favorite thing about it is this little blurb they’ve got on their website. It’s one of those “satisfied customer” reviews, and it’s just incredible. Here’s a paraphrase:

…I can’t help getting sentimental at this Black Belt testing time. I remember dragging my son to your studio when he was 5-years-old because another little boy on the school bus smashed his face into the bus window, injuring him badly. He wouldn’t actually join your class for a year, but finally did when he turned six. My husband and I think it was because your strong voice frightened him into it. Can you imagine that?

Let’s all take a few minutes to just sit and Imagine That, shall we? Friends, that is ONE SERIOUSLY SATISFIED CUSTOMER.

Not to mention yet another EXCELLENT plug for homeschooling. With a little karate thrown in for good measure.

11 Responses to “From white to yellow in 37 days.”


  1. 1 Mom #1 July 23, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    I can’t believe someone posted that as a COMPLIMENT, LOL. That’s hilarious!

    The pictures are so cute. I love that Baby Boy is into the martial arts. It’s really great exercise, great fun, and a great self confidence builder.

    I especially like watching the little girls as they go from shy to “in your face.” But don’t tell Baby Boy, he thinks it’s all about him.

    Boys, *SIGH*

  2. 2 Mommylion July 23, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Congratulations on the yellow belts and on finding such a great program 🙂

  3. 3 Ami July 23, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    They’re so cute. Unless telling them they’re cute will get my ass kicked.

    If so, then they look quite tough.

    🙂

  4. 4 RegularMom July 23, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    Thanks everyone.

    Ami, I’ll check into the cute vs. tough thing and let you know what they say. 🙂

  5. 5 SabrinaT July 24, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Congratulations on the yellow belt! The boys take martial arts here in Japan. We will miss the instructors A LOT when we leave. The boys love the class, and have learned tons of Japanese as a result of class.

  6. 6 don July 24, 2008 at 9:38 am

    I remember our “white to yellow” post when our oldest daughter started Tae Kwon Do. Now it’s been over 2.5 years, and she’ll be testing for her black belt in two weeks. It’s amazing, the things it has done for her, not only in TKD itself, but in things like confidence and perseverance.

  7. 7 Summer July 24, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Congrats to the big step up to yellow belts. 🙂

    Maybe I’m odd, but I don’t think a school that a kid needs to know karate to survive in is really that good of a school. Heh.

  8. 8 yestheyareallmine July 24, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    WTG girls!!!

  9. 9 Amy July 25, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Congratulations on the yellow belts!

  10. 10 Hillary July 26, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Hi RegularMom,

    I feel a bit like the stranger in the room, but I just wanted to tell you that I love your blog. I found it in a desperate attempt to feel connected to anything at all. Or should I say, less dis-connected from the world. I’m new to homeschoooling and, with the support of my husband, am embarking with little to no support from family or friends. There’s a good community of homeschoolers here that I am breaking into. But there are, of course, those days when it all gets to you and you feel like you’re swimming upstream. Probably especially in the early days when you wish it were all just optimistic and fun. And definitely when you happen to be PMS-ing. Your blog was a God-send, helping to bring me back up from a never-ending spiral of self-doubt and frustration. It wasn’t so much what you said or how cute your girls are, although those were certainly key components, but just the approachable nature of your writing and the loving humor with which you see your life and your kids. I really appreciate reading it all. I know it takes a lot to put yourself out there to people, some you don’t know, like me, and I really appreciate it. It really helped me the other day. I look forward to reading more and to being inspired again (no pressure).

    Thank you,
    Hillary

  11. 11 RegularMom July 26, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Hillary,

    This is by far the most touching thing anyone has ever said to me about my blog. Thank you.

    Welcome to my blog. And welcome to homeschooling.

    Everything you wrote resonated with me. I have been exactly where you are, and I assure you that it doesn’t last. One day you’ll wake up and realize that you’ve gotten to that place where you’re in the groove and doing what works for you.

    I’d write more about all this, but my 5-year-old is at the end of her patience with my typing. I’ve been up here for almost an hour typing a post and she’s pretty bored by now.

    But seriously. You (and everyone else who writes to me saying they enjoy reading my blog) make every minute spent doing this TOTALLY WORTH IT.

    Thanks again. 🙂


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


