Successful recipe almost does RegularMom in.

So, a couple of nights ago, on a whim, I made some homemade pizza.

No big deal, just thought I’d give it a whirl. Nothing fancy. Just my standard bread dough flattened and slathered with some organic jar sauce and a bunch of mozzerella. RegularDad was working late, and I didn’t have the heart to bake a whole platter of chicken just for the three of us.

You know. That kind of whim.

So, I baked a little pizza. And I told the kids if they didn’t like that I’d make hotdogs instead. I told them that it wouldn’t taste anything like the pizza we get from the pizzeria because I don’t have That Kind Of Oven. I was expecting them to not really like it.

But, they LOVED it. They ate every scrap and raved about it. They wished I’d made two. They said we should DEFINITELY make more pizza for the play date we were hosting the next day.

I thought it over. It seemed like a good idea. We were having just a few friends over to splash around in our little pool and our even littler slip-n-slide. People were bringing fruit and ice pops. It would be hot, but not as hot as it had been during that last icky heat wave. And the kids get REALLY HUNGRY when they swim. It’s just a fact of life. It wouldn’t be too hot to turn on the oven or anything. So, this morning we dashed over to the supermarket to pick up more cheese and I made more dough, and halfway through our swimming play date event, I brought out these little slices of homemade pizza.

And the kids DEVOURED them.

I made another pizza. This one with pepperoni. And the youngest guest, the one who’ll be turning three next month was all: I WANT THE ONE WITH THE RONI!!!!!!! RONI!!!!! RONI!!!!!! Pretty soon all the kids were yelling RONI!!! RONI!!!! And scarfing down these pizzas.

And so I made a third and final pizza. This one half pepperoni and half plain. And I hid two little slices away behind the coffee machine for RegularDad, because if he came home two nights in a row only to hear about this pizza AND NOT BE ABLE TO EAT ANY OF IT, he’d be upset.

At the time, it didn’t feel like a whole lot of work. But between all those pizzas and then the iced tea I made and the juice I served to the kids, and then later on the ice pops and fruit I brought out….well…. I seem to have overdone it a bit.

Everyone left around 5:00. They all grabbed the final remaining slices to munch on in the car on the way home. Then I got busy cooking dinner. Soon RegularDad arrived. “Dinner’s running late,” I told him, “but here: have this pizza.” He took his plate and disappeared into the little basement family room. He came back 45 seconds later and asked if there was any more.

By the time I’d finished getting dinner on the table, my feet were beginning to sing the Ave Maria. By the time I got the girls into bed, I was done for. I’ve been stuck on the couch ever since, sipping grape juice and watching Law & Order reruns.

Yeah, it was pretty good pizza, I guess.

So, do you want the recipe? I’ll give it to you, but with fair warning. You must mentally and physically prepare yourself for this one.

I’m going to bed now. You give it some thought. I’ll check back with you in the morning.

8 Responses to “Successful recipe almost does RegularMom in.”


  1. 1 Ami July 29, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    From the way you’re describing it, it was, in the words of Stephen King, the gastronomical equivalent of a boy’s first orga$m.

    Oh my god.

    Give the recipe.

    Quick.

  2. 2 Urban Mom July 30, 2008 at 12:54 am

    I’m all “ears.” I’m not known for my culinary expertise, so I’m up for any and all available help!

  3. 3 Fourmother July 30, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I fell into the homemade pizza trap several years ago. Sure, it’s a novelty at first. Then you find yourself kneading dough every week, and you discover that homemade pizza is a job just like laundry. I don’t make this time of year because it’s too hot.

  4. 4 Mom #1 July 30, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Dang! That sounds like a true blue double edged sword. Especially since Baby Boy can eat the equivalent of some of the smaller states three times a day.

    But yes, I still want the recipe.

    I am one of THOSE Moms. I like to give them a little luxury . . . then take it away (cue the heinous laughter here)!

  5. 5 tracy July 30, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    After reading this I would love the recipe! Hubby does us homemade pizza every Thursday… maybe it’ll give us some new ideas!

  6. 6 robinellablog July 30, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    Um, yeah!

  7. 7 Karisma July 31, 2008 at 9:33 am

    Homemade pizza is always far superior to the bought types! You can add as much topping as you want and not feel ripped off!

  8. 8 RegularMom July 31, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Okay. I’ve sufficiently recovered enough to actually sit down and type it all out. See my next post. 🙂


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


