2008-09 curriculum list and plans.

August is winding down, and even though we school pretty much all year long, I do take pains to make major switches in things right around the end of the summer. Also, during the LOOOOONG process of moving back to the East, I intentionally took about a year and a half to complete first grade. I knew, somehow, that we would need those extra months when things were hectic and the house was nothing but towers of cardboard boxes. And hasty take out. Frazzled Moments With Tantrummy Children. And there were so many days like that. Too many. I can’t bear to even think about it anymore. Egads! Why am I reliving it now, in this blog post, after it’s all over with?

Whoa. Flashback.

Okay, I’m over it.

Anyway. The point is, it’s been almost 2 years since I sat down and ordered up a whole big mess of curriculum, and can I just say: Ordering Curriculum Is Fun!

Man, I’ve GOT to get out more. Can you believe what I just wrote up there?

I am SUCH a homeschooler.

Anyway. I had a lot of fun looking through all the catalogs, and I exercised a fair amount of prudence so that when it came time to haul out the ole’ Visa card, RegularDad’s hair didn’t turn completely white. And the day I filed the Affidavit, boxes began arriving, and the girls began OOOOOH-ing and AAAAAHHHH-ing as I opened each box and let them pull out the books. And my 5-year-old practically cried for joy when she saw that she’d be doing HER VERY OWN SAXON MATH K MEETING BOOK this year.

They couldn’t wait to begin, of course. So we started our school year last week, and the girls are thoroughly enjoying themselves. Me? I’m exhausted. I’m learning how to handle teaching two kids now, and we’ve added a couple of new subjects to the schedule as well. I added a writing program to match our grammar program, and my 7-year-old requested Latin, even though I was planning on waiting one more year for it. So, our days feel a lot busier, academically speaking. It seems as if a big chunk of our school year this year will be learning how to take it easy and enjoy the work. Some subjects we’ll do every day; some we won’t. At this age, it’s all about immersion in the basics, and exposure to the extras.

Last week and this week, I’m focusing more on easing our way into a daily routine. Next week, we’ve got one more vacation to take: we’re spending a week at the beach. Then it’ll be September, and back to the regular grind — not just the academics, but all the extra-curricular stuff like Girl Scouting as well. It promises to be a wild and crazy year around here. But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

For those of you who are curious about the actual list of what we’re using this year, click the RegularCurriculum tab at the top of the page. I’ve listed everything there for your convenient perusal. Because I know you’ve been perched on the edge of your chair, biting your nails, waiting for this information. Yeah. I know you. Don’t try to deny it.

You are SUCH a homeschooler.

5 Responses to “2008-09 curriculum list and plans.”


  1. 1 :)De August 18, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Hi,
    I found your site at Two Moms Homeschool and find myself very impressed. You are a very skilled writer! I usually lurk for a while before commenting, but just had to say something. Enjoy your school year… my crew is asking for an early start too, but I am just not quite ready yet.
    Peace,
    :)De

  2. 2 RegularMom August 18, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    De,

    Thanks for the compliment. And for reading. And don’tcha just love Two Mom’s Homeschool blog? My favorite part of that blog is how you get “smootches” at the end of every post.

    Some days, I go over there just for the smootches. 🙂

    Anyway, welcome to my blog. 🙂

  3. 3 Sara August 20, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    What a lovely curriculum display you have there. You ARE such a homeschooler – who else gets all jazzed about math books? Love it.

  4. 4 Mom #1 August 20, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Hey! Imagine my surprise when I got here and found you and De sloppin’ sugar about me. Shucks! That rarely happens, in fact I think that’s the only time it did happen. In that case, THANKS!

    Oh, hunting down and buying curriculum is my secret back-alley addiction. Mom #2 has to seriously just tell me “All Right That’s Enough.” But that really just slows me down. Nothing can stop me.

    I’m glad y’all are excited to start school. Baby Boy is being extra obstinate with me this year. I think it’s the heat.

  5. 5 RegularMom August 20, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Mom #1, I totally hear you. Curriculum is the uber-drug of homeschoolers. Even now I’m sitting here dreaming up things to buy. Things that would REALLY “AUGMENT” our homeschooling year. Never mind how thinly stretched we already are. Just imagine how… um… enriching (yeah, that’s the word! ENRICHING!!) it would be to order all that…. extra stuff. 🙂

    Must…. not…. go…. to…. Amazon….dot com….

    I… can’t… hold it… much… longer—


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


