Where are we going? And whose handbasket is this?

I love election years. Not because we’ll finally get a decent president (ya, like THAT will ever happen), but because things like this and this get made.

I majored in Political Science and History and college. I learned just enough to become jaded to the whole electoral process in general. The way elections happen nowadays, and then the way congress operates, it’s amazing we’re still here at all, if you ask me.

I supported Hillary for president. I voted for her in the primary. I didn’t automatically decide to love Obama the minute he clinched the race. In fact, I’m still irritated as all hell that he decided to run this time in the first place. He’s young. He could have spent more time gaining valuable experience as a senator and a statesman before jumping out for the big spot. And this country certainly wasn’t ready to decide between a black man and a woman for the presidency. I mean, seriously. I liked Hillary for the job because she has a hell of a lot more experience than Barrack does. People hate her, sure. But this ain’t no popularity contest. It’s a country falling all to shit. I don’t think Barack has any idea of what’s in store for him if/when he wins this thing. Hillary did. She got it. She’s been there.

But, after saying all that, in the end I’ll probably cast a vote for Barack anyway. Because McCain makes me nervous, and ANYTHING’S better than what we’ve got now.

But at least we get to laugh our asses off at things like what they’re up to over at the Onion while we watch the whole thing go down in flames play out on TV.

Many thanks to Katherine over at Our Report Card, for reminding me that the Onion is out there, and that they get it.

5 Responses to “Where are we going? And whose handbasket is this?”


  1. 1 ami August 19, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    They all made(and still make) me nervous.

    I don’t like any of them, actually.

    I don’t like Obama because it seems he has no substance. “Change is what I’m gonna do, I’m gonna change it. Yup, just change.”

    I don’t like McCain because I really feel that he’s more of the same and what’s worse is that he isn’t even trying to deny it.

    I’m extremely cynical about the whole process, too. I do not believe that our vote makes a difference. I just… don’t.

    And under all that is the belief that no matter who we elect, their political opposites are more concerned with their ‘team’ winning than with the country and what’s really going on. It’s the Democrats vs the Republicans and win at any cost. Screw you and your family, screw everyone… except MY PARTY.

    My god. Do I sound cynical?

  2. 2 Katherine August 20, 2008 at 4:14 am

    All Hail The Onion! And Regularmom too. : ) love, K

  3. 3 Mom #1 August 20, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    OH, I know The Onion is hilarious. I used to read it when I was young and hip, but I sort of stopped over the years. After reading Katherine’s post the other day, it reminded me how funny it is. I think it’s even funnier now that I’m older and can really appreciate how irreverent and cynical they are. My kinda folks!

  4. 4 SabrinaT August 20, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    This election makes me VERY nervous. The outcome could quote possibly decide if and when my husband will return AGAIN to Iraq. I know the war is a hot button issue. So I will say this then move on. OF COURSE you have some measure of stability (as far as the surge). Guns tend to do that, as far as I can tell the political footsteps that MUST be taken by the Iraq govt is non existent.
    We are again having an election based on the lesser of two evils. Will that ever change? I doubt it, like Ami, I to am skeptical…..

  5. 5 RegularMom August 20, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    What was the name of that old game show where one person said random words, and the other person had to guess the subject? I can’t remember the name of it, but here’s something they could do if they were still on the air:

    Contestant #1: “Frightened…cynical…skeptical…”

    Contestant #2: “The American public in the election of 2008.”

    Game Show Host: “YOU WIN!!!!!!!!!!”

    (deep sigh)


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


