Regarding stupidity and politics.

Please don’t let my previous post give you the impression that I don’t think it matters who you vote for in this election. Or any election. Believe me. It matters.

I mentioned previously that I was a Hillary supporter. I’m still a Hillary supporter. I still believe she was the best candidate for the job. Even with all the baggage she would have brought to it. But I will also say that I never expected to go to the polls to cast a vote for Obama and be overjoyed to do it.

But that was before McCain picked his running mate. You know her name. You’ve hopefully seen her fumble her way through any number of interviews. But just in case you’ve already decided to head for the hills or hunker down in your bunker because at this point, what’s the point, and you haven’t gotten the chance to actually hear this woman answer a question, here’s a choice sample for your viewing pleasure.

She sort of reminds me of this little lady, from about a year ago. You remember her, don’t you? The one who wants the world to Get Themselves Some Maps?

I blogged about this little lady before, if you’ll recall. And I’d like to point out to you all that at this point in time, Miss South Carolina is probably watching Governor Palin’s interviews, and she is probably Nodding Her Head In Perfect Understanding at everything that Palin is saying (not that any of us can figure it out) and dreaming of the day when she runs for PRESIDENT. After all, if Palin can do it, why not her? Palin only came in second in the state beauty contest, after all. Palin never made it to the final questions of the Miss USA Pageant like she did! And this is America, dammit!

The Internet at large has already made the hilarious connection between these two women, so I won’t go any further. Just do a quick search on YouTube if you want to see more.

I’ll close by saying that this campaign season has brought surprise after surprise after surprise for me. Not only did I never imagine casting a grateful vote for Obama, but I also never imagined there would come a day when I’d listen to something Matt Damon said and vehemently agree with him. But, here. Listen to this, and ask yourself if you don’t agree.

November will be here before you know it. Let’s stand up and show the world we’re not a bunch of FREEKIN’ MORONS, by not electing one to the vice presidency.

The vice presidential candidates will debate each other tonight at 9:00 p.m., eastern time. I’d highly recommend tuning in, if not for the informational value, then at least for the HILARITY FACTOR. There’s nothing more entertaining at this point than watching Sarah Palin try to speak in complete sentences that actually mean something.

_________________________________________

Edited to Add:   Hmmm…. Miss South Carolina, the Governor of Alaska, and Matt Damon…three people that I never would have expected to write about in a blog post (or anywhere, really) and have it reach some sort of cohesion.

16 Responses to “Regarding stupidity and politics.”


  1. 1 rae October 2, 2008 at 7:06 pm

    Oh, yes. I agree wholeheartedly. A very scarey possibility.

  2. 2 SabrinaT October 2, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    I am watching the debates right now. If I have to hear her twang, doggonit oh shucks ONE MORE SECOND!!

  3. 3 RegularMom October 2, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Aw, Sabrina. Now don’t you give it a second thawght. She’s just a MAVERICK is all she is, a gosh-darn, hockey mom MAVERICK and a MAVERICK’S what this ‘ere country that’s sort of attached to the GREAT STATE OF ALASKA needs right now.

    MAVERICK.
    MAVERICK.
    MAVERICK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I now hate that word with a passion. Every time she said it, I felt like I was biting on tin foil.

    MAVERICK.

  4. 4 Fourmother October 3, 2008 at 1:10 am

    I just finished watching the VP debate, and I feel like I need a shower. I never thought I would see the day when a vice presidential candidate would resort to ditsy beauty-queen tactics. I mean winking at the camera! In what bizarro world is that appropriate behavior in a formal debate? What’s she going to do when “Putin rears his head,” blow him a kiss?! Can you imagine Hilary Clinton, Condoleeza Rice, Christine Todd Whitman, Olympia Snowe, Kay Bailey Hutchinson, Geraldine Ferraro, or any of the strong, trail-blazing women who paved the way for this Palin person resorting to cutesy BS just when confronted with hard questions? Sarah Palin can act like this, yet the republicans cry sexism when she isn’t taken seriously by the media.

    (Sigh) I’m going to take that shower now. I’ll probably be writing yet another cleansing political rant on my blog tomorrow.

  5. 5 RegularMom October 3, 2008 at 8:08 am

    LOL! Yes, I was quite startled myself when she winked at us. I looked at RegularDad and said: “Did she just WINK at us?????” but he was sort of… well… dozing. He opened his eyes and said: “Um, I dunno. Did she?” And I was all: “She Winked, DAMMIT!” And he was all: “Eeewwwwww!!! Now I’m really voting for Obama!”

  6. 6 Mom #1 October 3, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    O!K!

    I’m too late, Fourmother already said everything I was thinking (except us liberals in Texas sorely despise Kay Bailey Hutchinson and refer to her in terms not suitable to print on a public blog). When that prom queen winked at me, I almost threw up, and frankly I usually like that sort of thing ;-).

    Nice to know I’m not all alone.

  7. 7 RegularMom October 3, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    Mom #1…LOL!!!!!! And, just so you know, I provide a place in the blogosphere where you Can Say Those Words. If you ever need to. 🙂

  8. 8 Fourmother October 3, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Sorry, Mom #1. Didn’t mean to trigger your gag reflex. LOL! I was trying to point out that there are lots of women, many of them republicans, who are far more qualified than this twit. Feel free to call Hutchinson all the names you want in my neighborhood, too.

  9. 9 SabrinaT October 3, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    How many times did Palin sat the word Also? Between Maverick and Also, did she answer anything relevant to anyone? Sorry RegularMom Maybe I should rant on my own blog!!

  10. 10 RegularMom October 3, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Rant here, rant there, rant EVERYWHERE. We should be ranting on a GLOBAL SCALE that things have gotten THIS FAR.

    Am I right or am I right?

  11. 11 SabrinaT October 3, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    You are right! They are playing the debates here on AFN (for those that missed the nightmare yesterday). ACK! It is like a train wreck. I don’t want to watch, but I can’t help it. Ian, keeps telling me to just turn it off. BUT I CANT !

  12. 12 Katherine October 4, 2008 at 8:19 am

    Hey Sabrina, who are you actually voting for?

  13. 13 Fairly Odd Mother October 4, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    The saddest thing is I have a friend who named her baby Maverick last year. That poor kid.

    My hands are sweating for this election already. After watching the VP debate, I assumed everyone saw and heard enough to dismiss her completely. And, then a man in the discussions afterward said he thought Palin won b/c she “answered the questions better”. It took all my will to not leap through the television screen and pummel him.

    There is some poll out there which has them asking people from all over the world who they hope wins. They assign each country a certain number of electoral votes—at last check, Obabma had about 8000 votes, McCain less than 10. The world is begging us not to elect Bush Jr.

  14. 14 RegularSis October 8, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Ugh. This is an unbelievable situation. Not only has our reckless risk-taking tanked the global economy; the world is looking at the election and laughing that anyone else ever aspired to be like us.

    Thanks for providing a better analysis than the major networks.

    xo
    RegSis

  15. 15 Lori October 10, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    i hadn’t seen the matt damon video!

  16. 16 AztecQueen2000 October 12, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Nice to know that I’m not the only one who wanted to smack her every time she said “maverick.” It’s about as annoying and insincere as McCain’s “My friends…” opener to every statement he makes.
    Interestingly, my first choice for president was…Joe Biden!


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


