Poet, pushing 40, attends rock concert, loses favorite pencils.

Whoops, I did it again. Haven’t posted in a while. I’m coming down from a few not-so-glorious days spent in the bottomless depths of hell visiting with my in-laws. It’s kept me hopping, dealing with all the dysfunction, and it left me exhausted and questioning the very meaning of existence at some times. But after my mother-in-law (the one that wishes I was dead so she could raise my kids herself) finally left on Tuesday night, I collapsed on the sofa into a state of befuddled exhaustion, the kind that brings on that dreaded Super Loud BOOMING sound in my ears.

We did half-days of school work on Wednesday and Thursday, having taken off Monday and Tuesday for family visits. Although, now that I think about it, we went to the zoo on Monday, which can certainly count as a field trip.

Last night, though, I went out with a couple of other homeschoolin’ mamas I know, to dinner at the Hard Rock Cafe in Philadelphia, followed by a concert featuring a band called Rise Against, and about 3 other opening acts whose names I can’t remember. It was loud in there, and hot, and Rise Against played just fast enough to get me out of my In-Law Funk. It was just what the doctor ordered, if you ask me.

I will, however, confess that I seem to have reached that point in my adulthood where I no longer know how to really attend a concert properly. I was dressed fine – Dream Theater t-shirt and jeans, but I didn’t know that I’d be patted down at the door. And while I fully expected that they’d search my purse, I certainly wasn’t prepared for the fact that all writing utensils are forbidden inside clubs these days. The woman searching me pulled all my favorite mechanical pencils out of my purse — the ones I keep with me wherever I go, along with a small notebook, because I’m a poet and I do that kind of dorky thing — and told me I had to either go put them in the car, or she’d have to throw them out.

The car was a bit of a walk from the club, and inside the music had already started. So, rather than tell the two other women I was with that we had to go back to the car, I let the bouncer throw out all my pencils, and we went inside. Live and learn.

On the agenda for today: lots of extra coffee, a trip to the library to see some reptiles they’ve got on exhibit, and a quick stop at Office Max. For new pencils.

Hope your day is Just As Exciting.

Here’s a video of one of Rise Against’s more popular songs. (Sorry I can’t embed it; but every time I try, it says the video’s no longer available, so you’ll have to watch it right from You Tube.) The video has a violent theme to it, no doubt, but it’s still a great song, and honestly? After months of watching the presidential election fiasco and then spending a few days with the in-laws, it’s a pretty accurate metaphor for my state of mind these days.

4 Responses to “Poet, pushing 40, attends rock concert, loses favorite pencils.”


  1. 1 Karisma October 19, 2008 at 7:39 am

    WHAT? They threw out your pencils? What about your notebook? Surely they could have saved them for collection on the way out? What IS this world coming to? How on earth is a girl supposed to create/write in these situations! Shame on them! I can just see you now feeling a little peeved taking after someone with your pencil and slapping them with your notebook! Too Funny!

  2. 2 SabrinaT October 19, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Interesting video. Glad you had a good time, after the in-law visit sounds like you needed it. The zoo is totally a field trip!

  3. 3 Hillary October 21, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    So I guess your mother-in-law doesn’t read you blog? I can totally relate to that feeling that your in-laws really wish they could raise your kid themselves. The homeschooling thing has thrown mine for a loop, though they try to be outwardly unaffected. (They’re always whispering to my husband behind my back and sometimes clip an article or two to throw into my daughter’s bag about how parents should be certified to teach if they’re homeschooling, etc.) Thanks for sharing! It’s nice to know someone else is suffering with it, too.

  4. 4 RegularMom October 21, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Ah, Hillary… we could write a book together on in-laws, couldn’t we? And Karisma, you’re so right. I should have smacked ’em with my notebook. Of course, if they’d actually tried to take my NOTEBOOK… I wouldn’t have gone in.

    Still, it was good to get out and hear something loud. 🙂


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


