Catching up.

Whoa… here I am.

Life has gotten in the way a bit this year. Among other things.

We’re all finally over our colds. RegularDad’s is still lingering a bit, if you can believe it, but he’s bascially okay now.

My step-MIL is home from the hospital, and doing better. It took awhile for everything to take hold, and it was a scary two weeks there where we weren’t sure if she was going to make it, but she’s gotten through that crucial phase and has moved on to rehabilitation and physical therapy. She’s off the respirator, and her new heart and lungs seem to be doing what they’re supposed to, and we’re all just sort of getting used to the idea that she’s survived this. We haven’t gone to see her yet, because she’s still at a high risk of infection, and let’s face it: Infection Is Our Middle Name here. They’re shutting themselves away from everyone for a while. Can’t say I blame ’em.

RegularSis has packed up her crew and headed west for Texas. Everyone in Texas give them all a big ole HOWDY!!! and wave some Stetsons or something. And if you think I’m sad, you’re right. But I’m also really looking forward to hearing how RegularBIL’s wicked English accent changes into a Texas twang. That ought to be something. RegularSis: I’ll be calling soon.

What? I never told you about RegularBIL’s awesome British accent? It ROCKS! Or at least, it did. I saw him last week to say goodbye and he was already working on his twang, so we’ll have to see how it turns out.
YEEE-HAWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!

Hmmm… what else?

Well, my MIL spent the month of November in India, of all places, and we spent most of Thanksgiving weekend waiting for her to CALL AND CHECK IN WITH US. We were PRETTY SURE that she wasn’t in Mumbai, but not 100% sure, if you know what I mean. Made for a tense turkey day around here. Not that it destroyed my appetite, mind you. She finally sent us an email late on Friday night that said: “Hi, having a wonderful time in the countryside, nowhere near Mumbai, just saw the headlines today, so even if I’d had a cell phone I wouldn’t have known to call you, hard to believe…” etc etc. It must be nice to live in such a sun-shiny happy interior world where it doesn’t occur to you to keep posted on the political turmoil around you. Meanwhile, I’m back home fielding phone calls from people all over the Eastern Seaboard, not to mention people in Denver that she works with, all wondering if she’s been taken hostage and if she’ll be showing up for work or not (being taken hostage being, of course, a bit of a deterrent in one’s ability to arrive on time at the office).

She’s back in the States now. And probably back at work where people have yelled at her for not checking in and making them worry enough to actually track down that crazy daughter-in-law of hers who homeschools to find out if she was okay. And we’re over our tenseness. But we’re seriously considering grounding her from further international travel until she learns to be more responsible and considerate. Either that, or we’re gonna superglue a cell phone to her earlobe and tell her she has to call every day.

We took a week off of schoolwork for Thanksgiving, but are back to the books today. Other than some minor grumpiness from my 5-year-old, the day went rather smoothly. We’ll work steadily through the first half of December, and then take two weeks off for Christmas and New Years.

I’ll be shopping and wrapping and schooling and decorating until then. But I promise to post more, because let’s face it — the holidays are here, which means many things, like I’m in the middle of a massive toy-sort in preparation for the certainty of LOADS MORE TOYS COMING THROUGH OUR DOOR BEFORE THE YEAR ENDS and like my MIL will be visiting at some point which means I’ll be a sobbing wreck at least once this month and the only way I know to see myself through it is to tell you how it’s all going and see what you say. Because you all always say such nice things. And I just know that if you were in India and things went haywire anywhere in the whole country, you’d call me. You would, wouldn’t you.

I wish you all were my MIL instead.

5 Responses to “Catching up.”


  1. 1 katherine December 2, 2008 at 6:31 am

    I’m glad things are calming down for your family…in time for the holiday madness.

    I just realised that this cleaning impulse really is annual and linked to Christmas. Yesterday we attacked Henry’s room. We cleaned so hard, we actually moved furniture. No drawer was left unpulled. Care to guess how much trash we removed? Two giant black leaf bags.

    Can you feel me cringing in horror? That is my little cheerful gift to you this season. You may be sorting toys wisely. But I doubt your girls harbor TWO LEAF BAGS of trash in their room.

    I’m so happy your stepmother is home and surviving. 🙂 love, K

  2. 2 RegularSis December 2, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Always such a relief when you start posting again. We’re wending our way to Texas and thinking of you all. Glad the colds have been mostly vanquished.

    xo
    Talk to y’all later.

    = )
    RegSis

  3. 3 SabrinaT December 2, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    Wonderful news about your step-MIL. I would have to have a chat with my MIL. The benefit to living so far away, we have to plan (a long time in advance) for the in laws to visit!!

  4. 4 katherine December 3, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Hey Regular Sis, if you happen to be anywhere near College Station you can ask me for local tips. We moved from there recently. Texas is not all bad. 🙂 Really, there are good things about Texas. The weather. Kolaches. Proximity to Mexican culture. The weather. Big Sky. Los Cascarones. The weather. Oh, and land is CHEAP!

    Good luck, Regular-Fan-Katherine

  5. 5 rae December 6, 2008 at 9:24 am

    I’d call you a Nutcracker snob, but I wholeheartedly agree with you. Some things just shouldn’t be messed with. Maybe next year you can pack a purse full of snacks and try out the the REAL Nutcracker?


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


