Article: “Homeschooling Goes Mainstream.”

Education Next is running a pretty decent article on homeschooling, titled: “Homeschooling Goes Mainstream.” The article talks about how homeschooling is growing to include demographics OTHER THAN the denim-jumper wearing, Christian fundamentalist, to include more commonly now, people of diverse ethnic, racial and economic backgrounds. Here’s a brief passage:

…over the last decade families of all kinds have embraced the practice for widely varying reasons: no longer is home schooling exclusive to Christian fundamentalism and the countercultural Left. Along with growing acceptance of home schooling nationally has come increasing diversification of who home schools and of what home schooling actually means.

 It’s a bit long, and somewhat heavy on charts and stats, but well worth the time, if you’ve got it.

3 Responses to “Article: “Homeschooling Goes Mainstream.””


  1. 1 Maria December 20, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    I’m a bit bummed HS has gone all mainstream…I like to be cutting edge, and just when I think I am, everyone else is doing it. I mean, it was like that with legwarmers, my symmetrical haircut,listening to The Cure, then there is the environment. Finally cool. Now homeschooling. Am I going to have to go mainstream to be different now?

    Yours in constant rebellion,
    Maria

  2. 2 RegularMom December 21, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    LOL!

    I learned long ago to stop trying for cutting edge. Even when I was cutting edge, I wasn’t. My mother always tried to tell me I started dressing in the grunge style way before grunge was in, but I didn’t have the heart to tell her that those were just my clothes. By the time I’d gotten a good job and could afford to wear nice clothes, grunge was IN, but I was too damn old for it.

  3. 3 RegularSis December 22, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Don’t be saying I’m too old for grunge. It’s my weekend look!

    xo
    RegSis


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


