Ice storm.

Like much of the United States this weekend, we’ve been batting winter weather. It’s not as bad here as it is elsewhere, but it’s enough to keep us indoors and on each other’s nerves. I’ve got the kids doing yoga videos as much as I can until this ice melts enough for us to venture out and see what we can see.

The sun did come out, quite briefly, early this afternoon, only long enough for me to step outside alone with my camera for a few minutes. I snapped pictures until the cold wind drove me back indoors to where pre-Christmas chores awaited.

It’s dark and freezing now, and the kids are finally asleep, and now I’m sitting here looking at these pictures, and reliving that crisp, momentary dazzle from earlier today, and I find it’s better than the brightest, cheeriest Christmas lights.

ice-storm1

ice-storm2

ice-storm3

ice-storm4

ice-storm5

Right now, sleet is rattling against the windows in my study. It reminds me of what it sounded like outside this afternoon, when the world was melting a bit and pitter-pattering down onto the ice-coated grass.

I don’t know when we’ll be able to get outside again, and I don’t know how many trees we’ll lose in this mess, but I’m still glad of a little ice storm now and then.

Call me crazy.

6 Responses to “Ice storm.”


  1. 1 katherine December 21, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Wow, that’s beautiful!

  2. 3 Karisma December 22, 2008 at 12:38 am

    Wow! Those pictures are amazing! I especially love the first and the last ones! Fantastic!

  3. 5 Maria December 22, 2008 at 10:27 am

    I LOVE that last one, just stunning!

  4. 6 Mom #1 December 24, 2008 at 1:35 am

    Those pictures are so perfect. They are amazingly beautiful.

    But I don’t envy the cold. Yikes!


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


