Better than chocolate. Apparently.

As dinner winds to a close:

8-year-old: Mom, when do you think we’ll be able to take a trip to Egypt?

Me: Um, I don’t know. I’m not sure we’ll ever get to go to Egypt, much as I’d like to.

8-year-old: So, you think maybe it’ll be in 10 years?

Me: No. I don’t know. Like I just said —

8-year-old: Or maybe 5 years?

Me: Look–

8-year-old: Do you think it’ll be more than 5 years or less than 5 years? Do you think we could invite Grandma to come with us? When would—

Me: Okay. It’s now 6:15 in the evening. I have been answering questions since 6:15 this morning. I am now officially closed to any new questions. I am unable to answer any more questions until tomorrow morning.

8-year-old: Seriously?

Me: I can’t answer that. It’s a question.

RegularDad: Hey, I saw on the way home that the new ’09 Corvettes are on the lot now. Mind if I drive over and pick one up?

Me: I can’t answer that. It’s a question.

RegularDad: Okay. Since you didn’t answer, I’m gonna assume that’s a yes. Thanks!

Me: Nice try.

5-year-old: Hey Mom. Would it be all right if instead of finishing all these peas and my salad I just go get a piece of chocolate and have that instead?

Me: No. Eat your vegetables.

5-year-old: Ha-ha! MOM!!!!! You answered a question!!! Ha! HA! HA!

I just stare at her until she starts fiddling with her salad again.

5-year-old: Mom, I wasn’t really asking for chocolate, you know. I just wanted to make you say something you said you wouldn’t say.

Me: So, making me say something I don’t want to is better than chocolate?

5-year-old: Oh, yeah.

5 Responses to “Better than chocolate. Apparently.”


  1. 1 SabrinaT January 15, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    You have to love kids!!! (it’s written somewhere).

  2. 2 Mom #1 January 15, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    I can’t get you out of that one, RegularMom, you fell for a classic set-up.

    Didn’t you know kids are slippery like that? Baby Boy gets me all the time, LOL.

  3. 3 Karisma January 16, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Haha! Ain’t kids grand? We had the whole Why questions going on the other day till I nearly went nuts, I turned around and started on him, Why is your room not clean, why are you not up there cleaning it, why doesn’t someone go outside and pick up the dog poo, why doesn’t someone wash the dishes etc etc etc, Man I have never seen the room clear so quickly! I took control of the remote (not really but I could have if I wanted to!) I stuck my nose in my book and went off to booky heaven! Im good, yes I am!

  4. 4 RegularSis January 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Hmmm, I wonder where she gets it?

    ;>

    RegSis

  5. 5 RegularMom January 16, 2009 at 8:33 pm

    RegularSis! SSSSHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


