Do you see what I see?

Here’s a picture I took of my 5-year-old last week:

primer-game11

It’s a pretty good shot, I guess. But nothing spectacular. Except for the kid in the middle, that is. She’s pretty spectacular.

I’d been trying to get her to stand still so I could take a picture of her for my blog, because I wanted to write a post about how much fun playing games during primer lessons can be. (This was a game in which I wrote words on post-it notes and told her to place the word on whatever the note said to. She’s got one on her brain, her waist, and her veins here. We’ve been working on different spellings of the long-A vowel sound.) I wanted to sound sage and wise and all homeschooley and all that, but when I sat down to look at how the shots came out, I sort of forgot all the wisdom I wanted to spout here and got all focused on just how hard it is to get a 5-year-old to Stand Still For Any Length Of Time, and then I got all distracted by the OTHER THINGS in the picture.

What other things, you ask?

What do you mean you don’t see anything?

They’re RIGHT THERE:

primer-game2

1. Okay. This is my kindergartener. Smiling. During Primer. I just want to note this for posterity. Because it rarely happens these days.

2. For some reason, in this picture, my living room looks warm and inviting and big, and somehow just very GRAND. But it’s actually quite the opposite of that. And most of the time, it’s hard to walk in there, because of all the toys on the floor.

3. That coffee mug has been sitting there for about 4 days. I hope no one tries to take a sip of that.

4. A box of Swiffer dust cloths. Makes me look pretty damn cool to have that there. Like I’m Really On Top Of My Housekeeping. Except the truth is, I bought that box of Swiffers in, oh… I’d say 2005. And I still haven’t gone all the way through it. It’s about halfway empty. I did use one or two cloths to dust before my mother-in-law arrived. That was about a month ago, and I still haven’t put the box of Swiffers away after using them.

5. One of the 22 Webkinz stuffed animals we’ve got living in here with us. This one’s name is Chee-Chee. Or Cha-Cha? Pee-pee? Chihuaua? Something like that.

6. This is some laundry that I carefully folded about 4 or 5 days ago (probably while sipping coffee out of that travel mug), and then never did get around to putting away. By the time I manage to find time to do that, it’ll be tipped out of the basket and stepped on and dragged around the floor so that I’m compelled to just wash all of it again.

7. Wait a second. That’s my 8-year-old’s pencil. If her pencil’s over here, then what is she using to do her math sheet? IS she doing her math sheet?

Still…

primer-game11

She’s a great kid. They both are. And primer games really are fun. And I love this picture.  And even though she doesn’t smile like this every day during primer, and even though I sometimes grit my teeth and wonder why I ever decided to homeschool, it’s still worth every reluctant minute.

Because I can’t imagine surrendering that smile to some other teacher. Chances are, some other teacher wouldn’t even notice it.

6 Responses to “Do you see what I see?”


  1. 1 RegularSis January 26, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Great picture!

    RegSis

  2. 2 Mom #1 January 26, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    She sure does have a beautiful smile, and apparently a lot to smile about, LOL. Don’t worry. A messy house is a FUN house!

  3. 3 Gail January 26, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    She’s so wonderful and having so much fun that I didn’t even notice the stuff in the background.

    Or maybe it’s just that I NEVER notice the stuff in the background — come to think of it, my house looks exactly the same as yours, and I’m totally immune to noticing it.

  4. 4 Ami January 26, 2009 at 10:16 pm

    It’s making me smile… and my smiler is sort of malfunctioning today, so she must be REALLY cute.

    🙂

  5. 5 RegularMom January 26, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Thanks guys. Ami, rough day?

  6. 6 Karisma January 27, 2009 at 7:37 am

    LOL, now I would not have noticed any of those other things! Nope, not me, I was too busy at first wondering why she had all that awful plastic cheese stuck all over her! I immediately then thought, Oh, its post its! hehe! Im so clever, I amaze myself! She is just adorable, what a gorgeous smile!


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


