I was almost afraid to even come in here, but here I am.

I know, I know. I keep doing this to you this year, don’t I?

All I can say is: teaching someone to read in between bouts of illness and car accidents and other homeschool teaching requirements for another kid and all this while still having to cook and wash dishes and clothing, and shuttle people back and forth to karate and drama club and scouts and soccer and shovel snow and ice off the driveway because RegularDad can’t get to it before it becomes a TERRIBLE MESS, and and and and AND!!!

That pretty much describes my winter so far.

Well, it’s just life and motherhood. And I’m seriously not complaining. In fact, I remain cheerful as ever (but that’s because right now I’m dipping into the Valentine’s Day chocolates that RegularDad gets me every year). Yes, I remain cheerful and hopeful in spite of the fact that not 2 days after I was finally done with my cold, my 5-year-old came down with YET ANOTHER FEVER, and in spite of the fact that my mother-in-law got that job she wanted to get and is in the process of MOVING HERE as we speak.

Yes, you heard me right.

My mother-in-law is on her way. I’ve been practicing my smile till it hurts. And in my head all I can think is: Find a happy place… find a happy place… FIND A HAPPY PLACE! (like the starfish from Finding Nemo did when Darla was tormenting her in the fish tank) because that’s pretty much my mother-in-law in a nutshell right there: a 61-year-old DARLA.

But, today, the sun is out, and I got some poetry written this morning, and the girls are happy and relatively healthy and RegularDad’s got this coming weekend off, and it’s hard not to be cheerful.

So, my apologies once again, for wandering off and not posting. Just know that even when I’m not posting, I’m feeling pretty cheerful, and that I’m probably working my way through another reading lesson with my 5-year-old, or I’m dealing with a ferocious pile of laundry or I’m driving someone someplace, and that even though I can’t post about it as often as I’d like, my life is exactly the way it should be at this moment in time.

I hope yours is, too.

14 Responses to “I was almost afraid to even come in here, but here I am.”


  1. 1 Lisa February 17, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    I was just thinking about you the other day – thinking you hadn’t posted for a while. Glad everything is OK and you’re just busy! 🙂

  2. 2 Mom #1 February 17, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    Real life has a way of being much more engaging than cyber life, doesn’t it? It should. Take care.

  3. 3 RegularMom February 17, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Thanks, guys, for understanding. 🙂

  4. 4 Ami February 17, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Nice to ‘see’ you.

    So sorry about your mother in law.

    My mother in law did two considerate things in her short, drunken life.

    Give birth to my hubby and die before I had kids.

    I know how awful that sounds, but I’m really glad it worked out that way.

  5. 5 Maria February 18, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Well, think of her as “blog fodder”

    Now I have a mental picture of a very large Darla saying “Fishy!!”

  6. 6 Sara February 18, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Well, I’ve got you on Google Reader, so even if you only post once in a while, I’ll still read it. Good luck with the MIL situation.

  7. 7 Hillary February 18, 2009 at 11:14 am

    So, was it the sweater she borrowed?

    You’re not the only one. All the blogs I read have been going about once a week, or even less frequently. You’re in good company.

  8. 8 RegularSis February 18, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Glad to hear you’re doing well.

    LYS,
    RegularSis

  9. 9 RegularMom February 18, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Wouldn’t it figure if it was the sweater? Sigh. Nah. I’m sure she’d have gotten the job anyway. Oh well. It may work out for the best this way.

    I’m glad I’m not the only neglectiful blogger right now. Everyone’s busy I guess.

  10. 10 robinellablog February 18, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    *snicker* I’m laughing at Ami’s comment.

    WOW! Sorry about the MIL thing. Must be hell to have to deal with that. I hear about the MIL thing all the time and wonder why? Why does it have to be that way?

    I wish my newly 5yo would show interest in reading. I hope we aren’t going down the same path as big brother. I’ll know how to handle it, but damn, I was hoping for one kid that was easy.

  11. 11 boremetotears February 18, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Please forgive me if I’ve confused you with someone else, but aren’t you the one with the mother-in-law who frowns on iceberg lettuce?

  12. 12 RegularMom February 18, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Yes, that’s my MIL. She pretends that she NEVER EVER fed her children iceberg lettuce. But RegularDad assures me they ate iceberg almost daily – except for when they didn’t eat salad and went to McDonalds or something.

    Good to see you again, boreme and Robinella. I really need to update my blogroll and stay on top of everyone. 🙂

  13. 13 boremetotears February 18, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    That was such a funny post; I even read it to my husband. Even today, when I send him to the store for lettuce I implore him to not pick up “bastard lettuce” by mistake 🙂

    But, seriously, having your MIL move close by? That sounds very difficult. Let me know when your chocolate runs out; I’ll send more 🙂

  14. 14 RegularMom February 19, 2009 at 8:15 am

    *snort*

    Me? I still buy that bastard lettuce. I like to mix it with the Romaine. The Romaine complains a lot — doesn’t like to slum it all that much — but I just go right ahead with it.

    I’ll be placing my chocolate order soon. 🙂


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


