Blogoversary.

So, we’ve all got colds again. Because we haven’t had enough of that yet this year. Seriously. It took me a few days to realize that this was another cold, because I actually thought that all that discomfort was just the tail end of that other cold I had 10 days ago. Turns out — nope! it’s a Whole New Cold! Lucky me!

My 8-year-old is so feverish today that she barely complained at all when I told her we wouldn’t be able to go to Girl Scouts. She gave me a token “whaaaa? but I’m NOT sick…” which trailed off into an exhausted moan and then she burrowed down under a bunch of blankets and I didn’t hear from her for about an hour or so.

My 5-year-old actually slept late this morning. That means she slept past the hour of 7:00 and then staggered downstairs with a blanket and her stuffed elephant and sneezed all over the coffee table and me and everything in the living room really, before settling down on the other couch.

Me? I’m all AH-CHOO.

But the silver lining to it all is that I’ve actually got a bit of a day off. RegularDad is bringing us dinner, and he doesn’t have to work tomorrow so I don’t really HAVE to do laundry today. I mean, he could just hang out in his jammies all day tomorrow, right? We all could, actually.

So, finding myself with an unexpected quiet day, I decided to check my calendar. And I discovered that today is my blog’s second anniversary. Two years ago today, I published my first post and then asked a few good friends to read it and tell me how fabulous I am if it was worth posting a second time or not, and here I am two years later, sick as a dog, but ready to celebrate.

I started this blog two years ago because I had just moved 2,000 miles across the country and was stuck in a very tiny farmhouse with two small children, a minivan that didn’t have legal tags on it, and nowhere to go even if I could have driven. The windows in that little farmhouse that February had completely frozen over so I couldn’t even see outdoors unless I actually WENT outdoors. But it was way too cold for that. RegularDad was working practically 24-7, and when he was here, he was sleeping. I had quit smoking a mere six months before then, and I found myself dangerously close to running out and buying a couple of cartons of Marlboros, and I really, really didn’t want to do that after all those months, but things were getting desperate. And I needed some grownups to talk to. Desperately.

So, I did the only rational thing I could think of. I started a blog. And sometimes I’d try to sound all wise and sage and homeschooly in my posts. But other times I’d just give in and type what was actually going through my head at any given moment, or unbelievable conversations that we were having around here, and I’ve found that those posts made people laugh, which was a bit of a relief. Because that meant that I wasn’t completely crazy.

Or maybe it meant that I was, but that I wasn’t alone in my insanity.

Either way, it helped. I managed to stay off the smokes, and continue to homeschool the kids, and things are much better now.

But I owe each of you a debt. For all the encouragement and laughs and free therapy. Many, many thanks to all of you for keeping me smoke free for all these months.

To celebrate, I figured I’d do a little stat inventory:

Here’s a link to my very first post: Wake Up Call.

Here’s one of my very favorite posts ever: Regarding False Forwarding.

And here, according to my stats, are the top-5, most popular pages that people hit on this blog:

About RegularMom and RegularCurriculum are the tabs up at the top of the page. People click there often. I should go update that stuff.

After those two pages, the next most popular post is A Little Q&A on Blogging. I linked to Doc’s place in that post and then she linked back to me, so a lot of people came visiting from her blog. No surprises there.

Next up was There’s Always the Moon, another one of my favorites. Probably some of the best pictures I’ve ever taken. I remember it was FREEZING out that night, but I was determined to get shots of the eclipse. RegularDad was (of course) working late, and my 8-year-old kept hearing me go out the front door and coming down to make sure I was still here, which was exasperating. But I still managed to get some good pictures. This post is dated February 21, 2008, by the way, one day after my first blog anniversary, which explains why I didn’t do a first anniversary post last year: I was drunk on taking pictures of the moon.

And finally making the top 5 — and oddest of all, I might add — is this one: Post-Nicotine Addiction Conversation. One of the most common Google searches that pops up in my stat bar is some variation of Captain Crunch Berries. People all over the world are apparently ALWAYS looking for the Crunch Berries. Hey. I totally understand. As my post concerning Crunch Berries clearly shows. Indeed, I’ll always have fond memories of that cereal, even though I know better than to keep it around. I assure you all, though, that if I ever, EVER come close to buying a pack of cigarettes, I’ll go for the crunch berries first. Pinky swear. Totally.

And, finally, just for the record: It’s been 2 years, 7 months, and 11 days since my last cigarette. I’ve not smoked 19,410 cigarettes and I’ve saved 67 days of my life.

And I have all of you to thank for that. I couldn’t have done it without you.

So, thanks.

9 Responses to “Blogoversary.”


  1. 1 RegularSis February 20, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Hooray! Thanks for sharing your Blogoversary, no-smoking, sanity-saving entry!

    Seriously though, get some ANDROGRAPHIS.

    Stuff’s unbelievable at beating cold season illnesses. Get some, take it.

    LYS,

    RegSis

  2. 2 RegularMom February 20, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Thanks, RegularSis. 🙂

  3. 3 rae February 21, 2009 at 7:06 am

    Happy Blogoversary, RM. Thanks for all you share!

    Now, get better dammit!

  4. 5 debd February 21, 2009 at 10:51 am

    happy blogoversary! I haven’t been here in a long time.

  5. 6 RegularMom February 21, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    Thanks Deb. It’s good to see you again. 🙂

  6. 7 Sparklee February 21, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Congratulations on your blogversary! Your blog is great! Thanks for telling it like it is. Hope you all feel better soon.

    Sparklee

  7. 8 Mom #1 February 22, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    Happy blogoversary! Congratulations! I totally heart your blog.


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


