OMG! I’m posting.

And just for the record, I’m probably way too old to be even using the OMG! thing.

But there you have it. Me — 40 and trying to be cool. Good thing the kids aren’t in regular school. They don’t really have a good grasp of just how out-of-it I really am.

So, things are on the mend around here. Things have been on the mend for a while, but how many times did you really want me to post: Things are on the mend here today…. We did a little math….

OMG! Could I BE anymore BORING?

So, I stayed away. For your reading pleasure.

But we are finally – somewhat – on the mend. It took a massive sinus infection for my 5-year-old, the flu for me, which I still think was really a sinus infection — but we’ll never really know, and then a sudden bout of strep for my 8-year-old, and all of this finished up today with yet another visit to the doctor to find out why my 5-year-old is STILL COUGHING bad enough to keep herself awake at night. Which led, of course, to another trip to the pharmacy for yet another prescription for something that probably won’t do any good. My kitchen window sill, where I keep most of the medicines, looks like an ICU in-house pharmacy. And I’m seriously considering investing in some CVS stock. Because business is BOOMING there right now.

And I almost forgot to mention that 7 days into my round of antibiotics, I developed a nice little case of hives. So I stopped taking the antibiotics and switched over to Benadryl and spent a few days Not Scratching. Note to self: mention this to the doctor next time.

And in the middle of all this happy crappy, yeah, we did a little work. Just the basics. Just a little. A that little bit seems to have been enough. Or maybe it’s because I’ve been homeschooling long enough to know better than to think in terms of behind or ahead. We are where we are. And today, my 5-year-old sat down with me and read me most of Go Dog! Go. Because she wanted to. Which means we are right where we’re supposed to be.

Boy I sure do sound confident. Like I’ve really got my act together! Don’t I? Before you get all annoyed that I’m so TOGETHER, I should mention the state of the house. I really should. The house is a mess. I’d take pictures, but I’m too tired. It’s just gotten out of hand. The kitchen I’ve managed to keep a handle on, but everything else is just covered with clutter and dust and cheese stick wrappers and dog-eared books and just CRAP. 

And I don’t even want to talk about the Laundry Situation. Except to tell you that it’s definitely A SITUATION. And that’s all I’m gonna say about it. Because I don’t want to talk about it.

But that’s okay.

Because we’re on the mend.

6 Responses to “OMG! I’m posting.”


  1. 1 SabrinaT March 18, 2009 at 4:40 am

    Glad to hear you all are on the mend.

    Go Dog, is a great book… Don’t worry about the laundry, just take time and have a cup of tea……

  2. 2 kitten/katie March 18, 2009 at 8:51 am

    I’m so glad you are on the mends! Bless your heart! Hope you are back to your old self soon!

  3. 3 RegularMom March 18, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Thanks Sabrina, and Kitten. And Kitten — good to see you again.

  4. 4 Ami March 18, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Go, Dogs, Go!

    Was the first book I bought for my daughter that I knew she would be able to read. I handed it to her in the back seat as we were off to one of our activities.

    I will never forget the big belly laugh from behind me as she got to ‘Do you like my hat?’

    I’m glad to hear you’re all feeling better. It’s been a really bad winter for ‘bugs’ here in Oregon, too. We’ve had up to 10 kids PER DAY out sick from our program. I mean, it reduces the enemy, but damn.

    I hope this means you’ll be posting more.

  5. 5 RegularSis March 18, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Glad you’re feeling better, and thrilled to hear RegNiece is reading Go, Dogs, Go!!! xo RegSis


Leave a Reply

About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.


