There’s always the moon.

eclipse3.jpg

eclipse1.jpg

eclipse4.jpg

My uncle sat and looked at the moon, its silvery light spilling over the mountains, making all things quietly beautiful.

“Poor man,” lamented my uncle. “All I had to give him was my tattered robe. If only I could have given him this wonderful moon.”

“Your uncle sounds nice,” said Addy. “I don’t think I could have given away my only robe.”

“I know how that is,” said Stillwater. “But there’s always the moon.”

— from Zen Shorts, by Jon J. Muth

10 Responses to “There’s always the moon.”


  1. 1 Fourmother February 21, 2008 at 2:40 am

    Stunning. I wish I could take photographs like this.

  2. 2 RegularMom February 21, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Thanks. I must dash off to the library today, but I wanted to leave my camera info here, since people have been asking:

    My camera is a Canon Digital Rebel XTi. I used a telephoto lens and a tripod to take these pictures. And keep in mind that I took many, many pictures that did not look nearly this good. 🙂 I am very new to photography, and this was a wonderful surprise to get these shots. 🙂

    Off to the library today. 🙂

  3. 3 Jenni in KS February 21, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Great photos! There was no moon for us last night:o(

  4. 4 RegularSis February 21, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Yes, there’s always the moon. How nice it is to be reminded.

    LYS,
    -RegSis

  5. 5 Debbie February 21, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    It’s really great to see pictures of it, since I missed it personally due to very cloudy skies. Thank you.

  6. 6 RegularMom February 21, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    And a special thanks to RegularSis and RegularBIL for getting us that book for Christmas. It’s a current favorite read-aloud around here.

    I’m so happy to have them. And I’m happy to have you all to share them with.

  7. 7 Kim February 21, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    GREAT pics Reg! Wait till you see mine. It will give you quite a chuckle!-K

  8. 8 Robinella February 21, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    We didn’t have a moon either last night. What lens?

  9. 9 RegularMom February 21, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Kim, let me know when they’re up and ready. Chuckles are always good.

    Robinella, I used a telephoto lens: 75-300mm. I really LOVE my telephoto lens. 🙂


  1. 1 Blogoversary. « Like I Have Time For This? Trackback on February 20, 2009 at 1:18 pm

Leave a comment




About RegularMom

I don't have time to write this blog. You don't have time to read this blog. Let's do it anyway.

Email me:
regular_mom at yahoo dot com

Fair Warning:

blog-rating2

Home of the…

Proud recipient of…

The Legalaties

All images and written text on this blog is copyright ©2007-2014 RegularMom.

This means that all the stuff written on this blog is, like, MY stuff. As in: Not YOUR stuff. Don't take my stuff without asking, okay? It's rude.